Agave Authentic Mexican Grill

One of the best parts about this blog is that a few of us work on it together! Which means sometimes we do individual posts, and sometimes we do things together as a group and blog about it. And other times, we both happen to go to the same place at different times and want to share our experience! This is one of those posts. Both Danielle and Dee had dates recently, and both chose Agave as the perfect spot to go on that date, which could say a lot about how good this place is!

Danielle 

Replacing Press Box Sports Bar on Albert Street, Agave is a great place to go for Mexican food.

The décor inside has obviously changed a lot since Press Box was in the building. With bright colours and traditional Mexican music in the background, it definitely makes me want to be on a beach drinking margaritas in Mexico.

On Taco Tuesday, they have $25.00 per person all-you-can-eat tacos. I usually get about three or four per order, and go from there.

Personally, I am not a fan of super spicy food, and I also can’t eat gluten. So I am probably one of the worst people to take to a Mexican restaurant, haha! Regardless of this, Agave helps me feel welcome every time I go there.

I had the chips and guacamole as an appetizer – boy is that good guac! I followed it with 4 gluten-free tacos: fried beans with rice, chicken tinga, beef barbacoa, and two carnitas (my fave because it’s the least spicy). It was interesting to find out from our lovely server that the carnita taco actually used to have more of a sauce on it. I asked about it because I remember it having more the last time I ordered it. She said that too many people complained about it being too messy, so they changed the recipe. Messy is all part of the experience, if you ask me!

My date had a variety of different tacos, he said the shrimp one is his favourite. He also ordered vegan potato taco bites and said that they were “different but very good”.

Agave is definitely a Regina staple for me whenever I am feeling like Mexican food – even if I’m a wimp when it comes to spice!

Dee

A few weeks ago, I have to admit I was not surprised to receive a message from a friend. I, however, was surprised to see that message involved them asking me out on a date. But, I’m a girl who likes to take risks – I said “yes” right away. And the truth is, the more I thought about it, the more excited I got about the idea of the date.

We both have hectic work schedules, but after a couple weeks we finally found a day that worked for both of us and agreed that supporting local Regina restaurants was what we wanted to do. So,  Agave was the perfect spot. Deciding to skip Taco Tuesday, we went on a Wednesday. But the place was still busy and I think that says a lot about how good they are.

Despite that, we didn’t have to wait long for our drinks or for our dinner. The staff were super friendly, super helpful, and just overall fun to be around!

I ordered the choribeef burger and my date opted for the chicken nachos.

The burger

According to the menu, the burger is a “6oz patty, Gouda cheese, bacon, guac, garlic aioli, lettuce, tomato, pickle and onion on a gourmet bun. Served with your choice of tajin fries, soup or Caesar salad”

According to me, this burger was messy but delicious.

The nachos

Like Danielle, my date needed a gluten-free option and opted for the nachos. My date loved them! As both of us can’t handle too much spice, the nachos did have a bit of a kick (but nothing that couldn’t be managed)! The best way to describe the nachos is like the burger: messy but delicious.

It’s also safe to say that the serving size was more than enough! Which always means lots of leftovers…. As long as you don’t forget them. And if you do, then it just means that you’ll have to make plans to go back.

For anyone who doesn’t have time to sit down and have a meal, Agave offers a fun option that they call Agave Express. This is their street food option, which is perfect for a work evening when I don’t want to do any cooking and want to get a quick dinner and go home. And while I don’t have photos of our meals (I completely forgot about my phone during the date!) I am sure that I will be going back again soon, and will be able to take some then!

Leave a comment